London Theatre Direct

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Order 4.8
Service 4.5
Price 4.3
Delivery 4.5

Total

4.5
25.0% would buy here again

London Theatre Direct

Are you want to catch a play or musical from the world-famous West End in London? For real entertainment, it doesn’t get much better than that. With plays and musicals from the world’s best creators, featuring all-star casts, performers, dancers, actors and comedians, theatre creates unforgettable memories. In the past, you would need to stand in long queues to buy show tickets, but now there are online companies that offer show tickets. A name you might have seen before is called London Theatre Direct. What does this company do? Are they a reputable online ticket seller? Are they known for their customer service? Reading the feedback and experiences of real-world customers will help you to understand that and to help you decide whether to buy tickets from London Theatre Direct.

About London Theatre Direct

London Theatre Direct has been operating since 1999 and sold more than 10 million tickets to customers. Their website offers to live seating plans, a secure booking platform and access to London’s plays, ballets, operas, concerts, attractions, and theatres. They are based in London, England. Customers can shop for tickets from the following categories: last-minute, discounted shows, musicals plays, dance, new shows, dinner and show packages, Off-West End tickets and Drive-In Cinema tickets. Simply search through the available shows, pick a date and search for the best tickets available. Theatres selling tickets with London Theatre Direct include Adelphi Theatre, Apollo Theatre, Cambridge Theatre, Fortune Theatre, Garrick Theatre, Gielgud Theatre, London County Hall, Lyceum Theatre, Old Vic Theatre, Piccadilly Theatre, Playhouse Theatre, Prince of Wales Theatre, Sadler’s Wells Theatre, Savoy Theatre, Sondheim Theatre, Vaudeville Theatre, and Wyndham’s Theatre.

Products and Services of London Theatre Direct

London Theatre Direct accepts payments made by credit and debit cards, Google Pay, Apple Pay, Amazon Pay. Tickets can be collected 1 hour before shows from the Box Office. Customers can also choose to have their tickets posted to them – at an additional charge of £3. Customers can also print tickets as e-tickets to present as confirmation at the Box Office. Seating in each theatre is different and on London Theatre Direct’s website a customer can select the number of tickets required for a performance as well as choose which seats to purchase. Different seating areas in theatres carry different pricing structures. There are no cancellation and refund policies: no refunds will be given to customers if they want to cancel their tickets; only when a show is cancelled, will customers be issued a full refund. This is a standard policy for this industry.

Compliments, Complaints and Tips about London Theatre Direct

Have you previously bought tickets for shows from London Theatre Direct? Did you get your tickets and for the actual seats you booked? How was your customer service experience when dealing with London Theatre Direct? Did you find their online checkout process straightforward? Would you recommend London Theatre Direct to your friends and family? We invite you to please write your customer review here of your feedback, experience, and insights about London Theatre Direct. Read other customers’ reviews to learn exactly what this company does and its services available to you.

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Read independent reviews, complaints and experiences here. Be aware of where to make your purchase or rate a shop where you have made an (online) purchase yourself. This way everybody decides for themselves which shops are bad and good!

Spotlight: What do our customers say?

S
Sarah 2 years ago
10
Booked tickets for Get Up Stand Up. Great show and got a good price. Customer service team answered my email quickly when I didn't understand how my tickets were coming.
S
Samantha Millson 2 years ago
8.5
Their website is by far the best with a simple user interface that anyone can find and book for a show of their liking without missing out on crucial details. It sucks that you must have to...
D
David 1 year ago
3
Just phoned this Company & spoken to them as some friends of ours bought Vouchers for us as a present to buy Theatre tickets which we now cannot use apparently as we are 14 days over the...
M
Mrs K Jones 1 year ago
2
Beware if you are considering paying extra for insurance if you are unable to use the tickets as its not worth it - they don not pay up. We were unable to travel 200 miles to London from Yor...
J
Justas Sliavas 5 months ago
2
Event canceled few hours before the show, LTD customer service has refused to offer any resolution for our lost time and money due to hotel booking, traveling to London for the event, and re...

All reviews ( 8 )

Tickets

Booked tickets for Get Up Stand Up. Great show and got a good price. Customer service team answered my email quickly when I didn't understand how my tickets were coming.

S
Sarah 2 years ago
Order
10
Service
10
Price
10
Delivery
10
Total
10
Would buy here again?

Group Pricing

Their website is by far the best with a simple user interface that anyone can find and book for a show of their liking without missing out on crucial details. It sucks that you must have to show proof of vaccination and the likes. We booked a group ticket and the customer care was very helpful and Babs helped answer our questions. We enjoyed the movies and we are glad the website listed all the actors and actresses that would be on a play. This little detail helped us to choose the best movie. I was happy with the London Theatre Direct ticket booking.

S
Samantha Millson 2 years ago
Order
10
Service
8
Price
10
Delivery
6
Total
8.5
Would buy here again?

Vouchers

Just phoned this Company & spoken to them as some friends of ours bought Vouchers for us as a present to buy Theatre tickets which we now cannot use apparently as we are 14 days over the 12 months that the Vouchers are valid for. I explained that I received a terminal diagnosis for Cancer 2 months after receiving the vouchers as a gift from our friends and have been unable to use them due to a very punishing chemotherapy regime.
I now though feel well enough to get out and about and so phoned and explained this to them and asked if I might be allowed to buy tickets under the circumstances. Apparently it’s just a blanket NO. They did say I could write in, but basically it’s a NO. So they have our friends money which they now keep apparently. So be warned - this Company clearly is lacking in some very basic ethical values and the operator admitted to me that they do just keep the money if people don’t redeem in time, whatever the circumstances. I’m shocked and will be taking this further as whilst it might prove to be legally allowable it’s ethically disgraceful.

D
David 1 year ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
4
Delivery
4
Total
3
Would buy here again?

TicketInsurance

Beware if you are considering paying extra for insurance if you are unable to use the tickets as its not worth it - they don not pay up. We were unable to travel 200 miles to London from Yorkshire on 11th March due to severe weather conditions - the police advice was to only make essential journeys due to the weather conditions being so bad. Although extremely disappointed at not being able to see Oklahoma, in view of the police advice, we decided it was not safe to travel a 400 miles round trip. We felt safe in the knowledge that since we were insured our tickets would be refunded and we could go to see a London show at a later date - how wrong we were!!. We raised a claim and attached screenshots of weather warnings, police advice, traffic conditions etc but were advised that our claim was not valid as the travel warnings need to be Red not Amber in order to be covered under insurance. Extremely angry as the tickets were £300.00 and we will not be reimbursed - we were not offered anything. If you are thinking of using London Direct - think again.

M
Mrs K Jones 1 year ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

Tinamusical

Event canceled few hours before the show, LTD customer service has refused to offer any resolution for our lost time and money due to hotel booking, traveling to London for the event, and rebooking a different performance on very short notice, which resulted in paying a premium. The email received back was quite abrupt and I would say insulting

J
Justas Sliavas 5 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

Tickets

Rubbish company,got stuck on the motorway as bad crash,asked if I could change tickets as missed the show,told no as it wasn't within 48 hours if cancelling.how was I to know the motorway would be closed for 5 hours and I couldn't get there in time, awful awful company

S
Sandra McDermott 8 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

Voucher

Terrible company. Zero morals, keep your money and don’t provide a service. Rude and unhelpful customer service. I was a long standing customer but will NEVER use them again. The one time I needed support it was point blank and rudely refused. AVOID.

L
Lucy 9 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

LesMiserables

Legit service, however be warned they're about 25% more expensive than buying the same category ticket - direct from the official show website. Won't use it again knowing this

A
Ash 1 year ago
Order
8
Service
8
Price
2
Delivery
8
Total
6.5
Would buy here again?

Write your own review

We use affiliate links on this page. If you click and make a purchase, we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you. Thank you for your support!