Mercury Holidays

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Order 9
Service 8.3
Price 9
Delivery 7.3

Total

8.4
66.7% would buy here again

Mercury Holidays

Booking your flight and hotel accommodation from the comfort of your home ahead of your holidays gives you an edge as you will not only get it at a discounted rate but also save yourself from the stress of looking for where to lay your head after spending most of your time on-air. There are different designs of hotels everywhere in the world, built for the comfort and relaxation of travellers with varying prices depending on the individual’s choice and pocket size. Moreso, travelling to a place you are not too conversant with the terrain could be risky, as there might be some fraudsters who are out on street, looking for visitors and tourist to swindle. The only thing that can keep you safe in such a place is to know the hotel you are lodging in and move straight from the airport to your hotel room. Therefore, to avoid falling into wrong hands in another man’s country, you should go through a trusted and reliable travel agent to help you with your bookings such as flight and hotel. You may want to try Mercury Holidays for your flight booking and hotel accommodation, but before patronizing them, ensure you read about sincere customer reviews from people who have used the services and products of Mercury Holidays.

About Mercury Holidays

Mercury Holidays was established in September 1980 with its contact address at St John's House Suffolk Way, Sevenoaks, Kent TN13 1YL, United Kingdom. The company claims to have grown from being a small company to one of the UK’s leading independent Tour Operators. Mercury Holidays prides itself in arranging award-winning package holidays, escorted tours and river cruises to destinations the world over - and all at unbelievable prices! They claim to be members of ABTA and that all holidays are ATOL protected which should give their clients confidence and a money-back guarantee while booking with them.

Products and services of Mercury Holidays

Mercury Holidays offers many services which include facilitating your trip to any country of your choice for holidays. They claim to offer special offers such as pay for 2 weeks and get a 3rd week completely free. They also claim to offer FREE room upgrades, FREE massages and Thalasso Therapy among others.

Compliments, Complaints and tips on Mercury Holidays

Have you ever used the products and services of Mercury Holidays? Then kindly drop your feedback here about your experience finding and using their products and services. How easy was it to access Mercury Holidays? How affordable was the products and services of Mercury Holidays? Did Mercury Holidays meet your expectations based on the information gotten or not? What tips do you have for other people who want to rely on Mercury Holidays to arrange their holiday trip, book their hotel accommodation and flight for them? Would you recommend Mercury Holidays products and services to others? How fast were they able to get you prepared for the trip and your travel documents ready in your dealings with them? What is your take on the quality of their products and services? Your reviews will come in handy in helping other people know if they can rely on Mercury Holidays for their auto insurance policy.

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Read independent reviews, complaints and experiences here. Be aware of where to make your purchase or rate a shop where you have made an (online) purchase yourself. This way everybody decides for themselves which shops are bad and good!

Spotlight: What do our customers say?

D
David Jones 1 year ago
10
My partner and I have travelled the world either cruising or staying in hotels. Booking through Mercury was very easy and accurate. The cost for our all-inclusive hotel in Pathos, Cyprus, bo...
K
K ZANGOURAS 8 months ago
10
We were joined by 19 other like minded people to experience the joys of Sri Lanka and we were not let down.
We saw and experienced their culture, religion and numerous wonders the cou...
S
Shona 1 month ago
10
I went on an escorted 'Grand Tour of Rajasthan ' 15 day.holidsy with Mercury Holidays in January 2024.

I am a well travelled person, having visited some lesser known...
J
Jill Cotton 2 years ago
8
I have several holidays annually, and my best bet for the trips has always been mercury holidays. Booking a holiday with this company always seems effortless and stress-free compared to most...
L
Linda Mitchell 3 months ago
7.5
This was my first trip with Mercury. A month beforehand I checked on the phone how many were booked for the escorted tour and informed there were ten and I was not alone having a beach exten...

All reviews ( 6 )

HotelCyprus

My partner and I have travelled the world either cruising or staying in hotels. Booking through Mercury was very easy and accurate. The cost for our all-inclusive hotel in Pathos, Cyprus, booked through the internet was the lowest of all the majors by c.£500. This was so surprising that when we got to the hotel we paid to upgrade to a suite, fantastic, two balconies, two bathrooms with the additional cost still beating their competitors internet offers. This was a no brainer.

D
David Jones 1 year ago
Order
10
Service
10
Price
10
Delivery
10
Total
10
Would buy here again?

9daytourofSriLanka

We were joined by 19 other like minded people to experience the joys of Sri Lanka and we were not let down.
We saw and experienced their culture, religion and numerous wonders the country had to our.
Our were lucky to have a fantastic guide (Lalith) and his team to look after us.
Throughly enjoyed every minute.

K
K ZANGOURAS 8 months ago
Order
10
Service
10
Price
10
Delivery
10
Total
10
Would buy here again?

MercuryHolidaysescortedtourRajasthanIndia

I went on an escorted 'Grand Tour of Rajasthan ' 15 day.holidsy with Mercury Holidays in January 2024.

I am a well travelled person, having visited some lesser known destinations as well as more familiar places.

My Mercury holiday was exceptional. Perhaps it was the destination I had chosen but the sights were stunning, jaw-droppingly gorgeous. The places exceeded Versailles in France in their opulence.

The hotels were all excellent, one was phenomenally special. The food and arrangements were excellent.

The craftsmanship and artisan's cannot be found in the West. The fabrics, colours, embroidery, miniature paintings etc were superb.

I am not being paid or incentivised in any way to write this. I am providing this review because quite simply, although I have travelled far and wide in the world, I cannot imagine anything beating this trip in terms of sights, history, culture, photo opportunities and the rest.

Thanks Mercury Holidays.

S
Shona 1 month ago
Order
10
Service
10
Price
10
Delivery
10
Total
10
Would buy here again?

Booked a holiday to Madeira

I have several holidays annually, and my best bet for the trips has always been mercury holidays. Booking a holiday with this company always seems effortless and stress-free compared to most companies I have used before. Nevertheless, whenever I have issues with this company, I contact the customer service team and speak to an actual person who guides me on what to do to book and pay up online fully. If you’re browsing around reading reviews before making your booking, go ahead and book your trip with mercury holiday. I have just booked my holiday for Madeira, and I bet I’ll enjoy it. I highly recommend this company to anyone.

J
Jill Cotton 2 years ago
Order
6
Service
10
Price
10
Delivery
6
Total
8
Would buy here again?

VietnamHoiAnbeachextension

This was my first trip with Mercury. A month beforehand I checked on the phone how many were booked for the escorted tour and informed there were ten and I was not alone having a beach extension. There were six in the group and I was alone with the beach extension. I have fed that back but yet to receive any clarification.
The tour was well organised, excellent local guides and good restaurants. Hotels fine except for the Sunway in Hanoi as the rooms are tired and bathrooms definitely in need of an upgrade!
Hoi An - the beach is not like the photo as its winter but still v warm but beach unusable due to coastal hurricane damage. The Palm Garden hotel was delightful, outside Hoi An but Hoi An was very humid, the river was brown and unattractive with V high humidity there. All in all, Vietnam was such an education, but the sellers everywhere were desperate to get your business which I found off putting and I would strongly advise against a beach extension in the winter months, despite the encouragement to do this I had from Mercury at booking.

L
Linda Mitchell 3 months ago
Order
8
Service
8
Price
8
Delivery
6
Total
7.5
Would buy here again?

Hotelroom

I am lucky enough to stay in South India for six weeks every year, across two separate stays.

Usually, I book accommodation directly with the provider, their parent company or sometimes with a reputable tour operator.

Instead, on this occasion I booked the Gateway Varkala Hotel using Mercury Holidays. Never again will I use that company.

Sometimes a hotel will not be selling rooms because they are full but a tour operator will still be selling as they have their own allocation of rooms which are theirs to sell until a pre-determined cut off point. In this case the hotel was not selling rooms, Mercury Holidays were selling and I booked with Mercury and prepaid them. I have used Mercury once or twice pre-COVID under similar circumstances and without issue.

This time Mercury Holidays phoned me and left a voicemail message the week before the arrival date to say that the hotel had overbooked, and they could offer me another (much lower category) hotel or a refund. Importantly, they clearly blamed the hotel.

I found that my hotel was still selling accommodation on my dates on several other booking platforms.

I have stayed at the property a dozen times or more. The front desk team are very efficient and it is a very well run property. It is a small hotel with only around 30 rooms and with such a small number of rooms, they know very well that unlike other properties, they cannot afford to overbook.

All indications were that Mercury Holidays were at fault but they denied this.
The alternative property offered to me by Mercury Holidays (Sajjoys) was of far lower quality and entirely different in style and was selling on other sites for around half the price that I had paid Mercury. Mercury kept quiet about the price difference until I raised it.

In any event, the hotel was still selling higher category rooms on the dates that I had booked. If it was the hotel’s fault, they should have accepted the booking and allocate the better room. If the issue was Mercury Holiday’s fault, they should do the same and bear the cost. Instead, Mercury told me that I had to pay them an extra £203 if I wanted to stay at the hotel. The original four-night stay cost only £422. This means that they wanted me to pay a total of £308 just for the last night. This equates to an extra 48% cost on the original confirmed booking.

Four of Mercury Holidays senior management were copied into multiple emails and they never bothered to respond. By contract, the hotel replied quickly, politely and efficiently to all messages.

Mercury hid behind terms and conditions “if we are not able to fulfil your booking made on the website we would refund all monies paid as we cannot confirm the booking requested”. Several of the messages from Mercury Holiday were curt, unhelpful and inaccurate.

Eventually I contacted the hotel directly and they agreed to accept my booking at no extra cost.

Finally and under pressure from me, Mercury Holidays admitted responsibility “Upon investigation I can confirm that the overbooking situation was caused by a system error which meant the room was not restricted for sale”.

The hotel had clearly been exceptionally kind in resolving Mercury Holiday’s mistake but Mercury even claimed that their local rep had resolved things and “another client amended their dates”. This was simply not true, I had to resolve things myself.

This all may seem rather trivial but the point is that Mercury Holidays cannot be trusted. Any one booking with them and not knowing the destination area would have been left in much lower quality accommodation or without a room. They would have accepted Mercury Holidays untruths and assumed that the hotel was at fault.

I will never deal with Mercury Holidays again. In the past, I have told a great many people about Mercury Holidays, as they are one of the few tour operators operating in Kerala. I will continue to do the same but adding that Mercury Holidays should definitely be avoided.

R
Rob Newcombe 4 months ago
Order
10
Service
2
Price
6
Delivery
2
Total
5
Would buy here again?

Write your own review