OnBuy

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Order 4.3
Service 4.3
Price 4.3
Delivery 3.7

Total

4.1
28.6% would buy here again

OnBuy

If you are a frequent online seller or buyer of items, you may have been looking lately for other alternatives to Amazon which can offer a fairer trading system and still be efficient and safe. OnBuy is a marketplace which is offering bigger support to businesses in multiple ways and a different proposal to both sellers and consumers to that of Amazon. If you want to get a bigger insight into how this company operates and user’s satisfaction with this platform, we recommend you read our customer reviews of OnBuy to gain deeper knowledge on the subject.

About OnBuy

OnBuy, based in Poole, Dorset, is a growing marketplace that launched in November 2016 and offers millions of products and has thousands of sellers who use their services. They connect buyers with thousands of professional business sellers and offer an effective and secure shopping platform. Customers can browse for items, compare prices and delivery costs, and read seller reviews and warranties. It hosts around 30 million products in more than 6,000 categories, and they plan to hit around 100 million by 2022. They also have around a million monthly visits to their website. They claim to be somewhere between the C2C eBay model and the B2C Amazon model. OnBuy’s key markets are Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Slovenia and Spain, and they are planning to expand to 140 countries around the world.

Products and services of OnBuy

One interesting characteristic that sellers will be interested in is that OnBuy, aiming to create a fairer, transparent marketplace, doesn't compete with the sellers on their platform. They don’t have their own product lines and they don’t plan to. Their aim is to help connect buyers with business sellers in a simple, straightforward way. They also welcome sellers of all sizes, from well-known big brands to small independent retailers. Since they have created lower, competitive fees for sellers (between 5-9%), it means buyers will also see that reflected in the price of the products they are interested in. In the platform, users can find an item they are interested in, compare prices, delivery costs and times, read verified seller reviews for orders and warranty for the product. Payments are processed securely by PayPal’s data encryption and orders are also backed up by its Buyer Protection. PayPal also holds the customer’s money until the item they chose is dispatched. Businesses also get an account manager and assistance from OnBuy’s support team always available for them.

Compliments, Complaints and tips for OnBuy

If you have already bought or sold through OnBuy, it would be great if you shared your experience with other readers who may be interested in using this platform. Your feedback will help them make a more informed and safe choice. Was their platform easy to use? Were you satisfied with the seller fees they offer? Were you able to sell the items you offered through this platform or did you find what you were looking to buy? Let us know all the details of your experience.

Information

12-14 Dean Park Crescent,
BH1 1HL Bournemouth
12-14 Dean Park Crescent,
United Kingdom
sophie.cotton@onbuy.com

Reviews, experiences and complaints

Read independent reviews, complaints and experiences here. Be aware of where to make your purchase or rate a shop where you have made an (online) purchase yourself. This way everybody decides for themselves which shops are bad and good!

Spotlight: What do our customers say?

m
mark perkins 1 year ago
10
48 hour free delivery i read reviews on this after ordering got worried bad reviews arrived on time quick i opened it and i was surprized to see a very well made stove i have used it works a...
R
Robert Keene 2 years ago
8.5
I recently came across Onbuy.com after a family member recommended it to me. So I signed up in less than 5 minutes on their easy-to-use website and right now I’m glad I did it. The company h...
S
Saima 1 year ago
2.5
DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY- I ordered products at the beginning of February with delivery date 21st Feb - I was told in March that the delivery was due to shipping???? - there was NO updat...
O
OG 1 year ago
2
Bought an iPhone on OnBuy - used their search engine to find a NEW iPhone. Turns out was not new by many years and a faulty insurance write off in the USA.

Contacted both On...
M
Martin 3 months ago
2
Onbuy owes me £500 in compensation for the time I wasted listing 460 products. This company canceled my sales account causing me financial loss. Furthermore, this company owes me £200 for th...

All reviews ( 7 )

extreamgosystemmultifuelcampingstove

48 hour free delivery i read reviews on this after ordering got worried bad reviews arrived on time quick i opened it and i was surprized to see a very well made stove i have used it works as it should very power full and can get flame down for frying good heat control would recomed dont believe all what you read .im very happy

m
mark perkins 1 year ago
Order
10
Service
10
Price
10
Delivery
10
Total
10
Would buy here again?

Bought a refurbished tablet

I recently came across Onbuy.com after a family member recommended it to me. So I signed up in less than 5 minutes on their easy-to-use website and right now I’m glad I did it. The company has better prices compared to the high street and most of the other online shops. The company also offers prompt despatch and the refurbished tablet was delivered on time and no harm was on it. I’m now using it for the fourth week with no problems at all. I will definitely order from the company again as it has a good pool of new and refurbished products to choose from.

R
Robert Keene 2 years ago
Order
10
Service
10
Price
8
Delivery
6
Total
8.5
Would buy here again?

Nailproduct

DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY- I ordered products at the beginning of February with delivery date 21st Feb - I was told in March that the delivery was due to shipping???? - there was NO update from the company I was chasing them the entire time - I demanded my refund which is now going from one department to another - it has been over 2 weeks no apology no update on my refund it is me chasing them - the products they sell are NOT UNIQUE to them GO ELSEWHERE where you will receive good customer service.

S
Saima 1 year ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
4
Delivery
2
Total
2.5
Would buy here again?

iPhoneturnsoutnotnewandwasfaultyNorefund

Bought an iPhone on OnBuy - used their search engine to find a NEW iPhone. Turns out was not new by many years and a faulty insurance write off in the USA.

Contacted both Onbuy and Onbuy seller both ignore my numerous emails. In fact Onbuy admitted they had deleted the emails.

No refund from Onbuy or the seller. Now out of pocket several hundred £ ££

Please beware and if you do buy a tech item get it checked that is new as described. Looking at Onbuys trust pilot reviews I am far from the only person to have this happen to them.

O
OG 1 year ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

sellerlaws

Onbuy owes me £500 in compensation for the time I wasted listing 460 products. This company canceled my sales account causing me financial loss. Furthermore, this company owes me £200 for the time lost due to red tape. Even though I met their conditions (company documents, positive reviews, proof of product ownership, etc.), they did not allow me to sell with them. In addition, this company robed me off from the £22.80 I paid them for "selling rights" even though the service was not delivered to me. Onbay are scammers who just want to rob you of your time and money. I am appealing to the control and security authorities to investigate these fraudsters and will seek compensation through the courts.

M
Martin 3 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

Donotbuyfromthiscompany

Purchased replacement heads for electric toothbrush on 26/07/2023. Item never arrived. OnBuy said the seller does not respond to their emails and the case will be referred to OnBuy Protection. As per 02/11/2023 the case is still not resolved. OnBuy has stopped responding to my reminders. OnBuy is aware certain % of the customers do not receive the goods but do not care since OnBuy receive their commission upfront. OnBuy Protection is just a scam. There is no option to give 'zero' rating hence 'one'

I
IK 5 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

Nintendoswitch

What a joke onbuy are , vet their sellers , no I got scammed by dik wok a company proposing to sell me a
Switch and then mysteriously get lost , told me to seek help via PayPal and onbuy protection they said sorry seller inactive no help no protection , thanks to PayPal I got a refund and no thanks to this sham of a site , stay clear !!!!

K
Kim Robertson 11 months ago
Order
2
Service
2
Price
2
Delivery
2
Total
2
Would buy here again?

Write your own review